The Diary of Anne Frank

Our class wanted to learn more about World War II, so we decided to read books on the subject. I chose to read The Diary of Anne Frank. It was really cool to see a part of Anne Frank in her diary. She talks about the changes that took place in her life because of this terrible war. She shows what it was really like to be in hiding. We see the everyday difficulties that the Jews faced. I love this Diary because Anne holds nothing back, she just pours out whatever is on her mind. It would encourage everyone to read this book that is full of raw emotion. Anne realized that life in hiding was going to be her life for a while. She realized that others were living in worse conditions, or not living at all. She was grateful for what she had. She just lived her life, trying to be as normal as she could be. Then one day her life was taken from her. Anne was a young teenager, just beginning to appreciate life. She had hopes and dreams for after the war. She wanted to be a writer. Anne was just a child, who could have done great things for the world, but they killed her. The Nazis also killed many other people with real lives and emotions like Anne. It was truly a sad time in history…Anne is an amazing writer, and she does a great job of describing her life! Aside from the Historical aspect of the book, there is so much more to learn. This diary encourages other young readers to start a diary of their own. Anne never expected anyone to read it, but now many schools across the world require their students to read it.

5 thoughts on “The Diary of Anne Frank

  1. Hey, I’m Khao, I was curious about why you chose to write about The Diary of Anne Frank. So, why did you? Hope you can take the time to come and check out my Edublogs site. Later.

    • Hi Khao. I had never read the Diary of Anne Frank before, and many people told me that it was a must-read. The rest of my classmates were also reading about the Holocaust, so I thought that is was the right book to read. Have you ever read it before?

      -Olivia

      • Khao, I would love to visit your blog, but I cannot find the link. Do you think that you could send that to me?

  2. World War 2 had to biggest struggle for the Jewish people have faced in modern times. WW2 is a time period I enjoy reading into and talk about as it basically setup our lives today. I’ve never read the diary of Anne Frank but i’ll for sure read it in the near future. Go check out my blog mohamedihussein.edublogs.org

    • Hello Mohamedihussein,
      I agree with you that World War II was a critical time in not just Jewish history, but world history! The terrible circumstances brought the Jewish people back together as one. I have am really interested in the Holocaust, and I am even doing a presentation about it at school. When you read Anne Frank, come back and see if you can get a better understanding of the poster.

      -Olivia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *